Indigo Rose Tomato Salad

This is our favorite salad using Indigo Rose OP Tomato, our new introduction for 2012. We had it nearly every day last summer and eagerly look forward to enjoying it again. Other small salad tomatoes can also be used but to my mind none are as beautiful as Indigo Rose in this delicious combination of taste and color. The deep purple exterior is rich in anti-oxidant anthocyanins and the interior of these 2” fruits is a rich bright red. The flavor is bright, tart and pleasant.

It is important to mention, Indigo Rose, the world’s first high anthocyanin tomato is a result of traditional breeding and selection over many years and not a result of genetic engineering. Bred at Oregon State University by Dr. Jim Myers, it is the result of growing out the best selections over more than a decade selecting for performance, coloration, and flavor. it is open-pollinated.
We are pleased to introduce this fine and unusual selection in 2012. We start our tomatoes from April 1 to April 15th and transplant around Memorial Day weekend.

Ingredients:

10-12 Indigo Rose Tomatoes (weight about 1.5 to 2 lbs.
3 tablespoons diced sweet onion
1 tablespoon white balsamic or red wine vinegar
1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil (optional)
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup chopped parsley
6 ounces feta cheese (not non fat)

Directions: Cut each tomato into quarters. Gently combine tomatoes, onion, vinegar, oil, salt and parsley. Place in bowl and sprinkle with coarsely crumbled feta cheese. This salad is also very good with one or two tablespoons of chopped basil. Serve, this can be easily doubled and serves 3 to 8 depending on whether this is a dinner salad, with bread, or simply salad.

14 Responses

  1. This sounds absolutely delish! I will have to try and make it someday! Thanks for the inspiration!

    • Let us know how it turns out.

      • I would let you know now but unfortunately, at the moment, I live in India and varieties of fresh produce are limited. If they are ever made available, they fly off the shelves very quickly. Almost in a split second! :-( So, I’ll have to keep you posted once I relocate to another city. :-D

  2. Looks like a nice healthy salad. I’ve not heard of inidgo rose tomatoes until now.

    • This is an exciting new selection from Dr. Jim Myers vegetable breeding program at Oregon State University. Easy to grow and we have seeds at Nichols Garden Nursery.

  3. Our plant has a super abundance of indigo rose tomatoes. Looking forward to their ripening to try this salad.

  4. Really enjoying growing the Indigo Rose tomato. It’s very beautiful with a little spicy/tangy flavor. I cut away a lot of the leaves around the tomato sets and let both sides get purple. It is kind of hard to tell when they are ripe, so I have to go out when the sun is shinning just right to see the red shine through a little, then I know there just right. Been a great addition to add to my collection of drying tomatoes, the dinner salad also to a local restaurant! These are wonderful little fruits :) I LOVE drying them with just a little sea salt and fresh Basil so it marrys together nicely in the food dryer :)

    • Spicy/tangy is a good descriptive of this tomato. Cutting away foliage late in the season sounds as though it would help build up the anthocyanins. I will be experimenting with this.

  5. I have so many of these tomatoes I will never be able to eat them up before they go bad..I planted 3 of them & now I have literally hundreds. I was searching the net to see if anyone had any ideas about using them up & I’m so happy to see the suggestion of drying them with the salt & basil..going to go put up a batch now! Thanks!

    • I’m just putting up a delicious but half finished tomato, lemon, ginger marmalade recipe. I didn’t have enough Indigo Rose for the whole batch but since they only cook for twenty minutes I’m hoping for varied colors tomorrow when I finish this off.

      • Dear Rose Marie,
        The Indigo rose tomato looks delicious. Is there a chance you would share the tomato,lemon ginger marmalade recipe? Sounds fantastic.
        Thank you for the timely tips especially on the new produce.
        Sincerely,
        Mary Clair Thomas

      • Yes, I will do this, I have a batch in the freezer I’m waiting to finish up. Thank you for the suggestion. How is your garden coming along. We’re eating favas and lettuce nonstop.Rose Marie

Leave a Reply

