And a Partridge In a Bay Tree

Years ago I gave a Golden Bay “Laurus nobilis” to a friend whose daughter’s name is Laurel. We dropped by last night with a little Christmas token. They’d strung their Christmas tree with lights in anticipation of Laurels arrival Christmas Eve. As my daughter, Katie, and I were about to leave there was a cry of you must come into the garden. It was dark and somewhat cold so hard to imagine what it might be.
In the back corner the bay tree was dazzling with dozens of lights. The branches seemed filled with hanging pears. What a delight to see such a wonderful transformation. Four of us began merrily stumbling through The Twelve Days of Christmas.
Only the next day did I learn the pears were actually Satsuma Oranges wrapped in netting and hung. These photos give you a view of the tree. Once more the darkest time of year is transformed by friends, gardens, lights, song and sharing. A Merry Christmas to all.

2 Responses

  1. Just having the laurel tree in honor of Laurel is wonderful enough, but the lights and satsumas made me smile. Beautiful.

    Thank you for your postings and I too love my bay laurels. I had to leave one behind in my Cambria garden of 25 years, but my dear friends Ellis and Susan Bassetti started a new one for me and I have it planted in a huge pot in the center of my potager. Every time I glance its way it smiles at me, and I smile back.

    Bay blessings to you,
    Sharon

  2. That looks really sweet… nice picture.

Leave a Reply

