The Bountiful Container

I’m happy to announce the fourth printing of McGee & Stuckey’s, The Bountiful Container is now available. This 432 page book is a complete guide growing container gardens of vegetables, herbs, fruits and edible flowers. We’ve included recipes for using your home grown goods. Maggie and I researched soils, containers, fertilizing and every aspect of what gardeners encounter when growing in containers. I love experimenting with new techniques and varieties using pots and small space gardening. If your garden is horizontally challenged, think vertically! If you only have space for herbs, a few salad greens and a tomato in a large pot think how much flavor and variety you’ll add to your household.

This weekend, May 10th, I’ll be speaking and signing books at the Oregon City Farmers Market. Saturday, May 17, is the annual Nichols Garden Nursery Plant Day. If you’re in the area, drop by and enjoy light herbal refreshment, gardening demonstrations, tours of the herb garden and a great sale on plants and other gardening items.

3 Responses

  1. My Husband just bought me a copy of your book for our Anniversary. I love it! I have been reading bits of it everyday since. I’ve learned a lot about what I’ve done wrong this year in my first attempt at gardening, but that is ok, I knew I’d make a lot of mistakes, most of them were not big ones.

    Thank you so much for sharing your wisdom in a way easy to understand. Thank you for putting so much detail into each edible. Even though you might be repeating a lot of information, it is great to be sure what needs to be done for each plant.

    Thank you!
    Rita

  2. Hello Rita,
    Good to hear you are finding “The Bountiful Container” useful for your garden. I was recently in Bellingham, WA for my niece’s graduation. Summers in NW Washington are cool and fortunately they have a little greenhouse. We planted a few tomato plants in the ground which are growing slowly except for the Legend variety. In the greenhouse we planted containers of peppers, tomatoes, basil, and salad greens. If the weather warms they can move outside and then back indoors to extend the harvest. The greenhouse environment lets container grown late peppers and tomatoes size up and ripen before true cold sets in.
    Happy gardening and let us know how it goes.

  3. This book was such an inspiration to me. Last Summer was my first gardening venture and I never would have had the confidence without this book. After paying lots and lots of overdue fines to the library, I finally bought my own copy.

    I literally pick this book up and read it from any point just for enjoyment – I never fail to learn and dream from it.

    Thank you.

    Julia Elliott
    Woodinville, WA

Leave a Reply

