Blogging Again

It seems I forgot to do something this summer. Caught up in gardening, harvesting, guests, travel and cooking my blog has been sadly neglected. We still are bringing in trays of produce and pleased to have discovered some new varieties for our 2008 catalog. Our current favorite summer squash is a tossup between the delicious, prolific Salman F1 Zucchini

Salman F1 Zuchini

and the Italian heirloom Tromboncino.

Tromboncino Summer Squash

I’ve been slipping zucchini into everything I can manage, omelets, soups and even some seemingly rich chocolate cupcakes. I’ll try to post that recipe later as I didn’t do a great job measuring the ingredients. If you find you have too much zucchini to deal with right now shred it and measure out two cups into a zippered plastic bag and freeze. They will retain a fresh flavor for at least three months.

Our fall garden is already producing, kale, lettuces, arugula and spinach. Just a step outside and I have wholesome fresh greens for our household. The beauty of this is we can keep planting for a few weeks more.

It’s not too late to sow Misato Rose radish.

Misato Rose Radish

It is so beautiful with a bright rosy interior. To serve peel, slice, and add a simple dressing of lightly sweetened and salted rice wine vinegar then watch the color bloom. At their best during cool weather, I usually harvest these when between two and four inches. They are also known as watermelon radishes. In Northern China they are often served as street food. The entire radish is peeled, placed on a stick and swiftly sliced into a multi-petaled rose.

Mesclun mixes and salad blends can still be planted. Collect your seed packets from spring and sow out remaining lettuce seeds or order new seeds. Lettuce will slowly and steadily grow through winter in most areas. I like to clip plants after the second set of true leaves appear and harvest just what I need for the table. Next time I clip back another area. You can expect at least three pickings from this Cut & Cut Again technique. Lettuces clipped back seem more resistant to winter cold and frost. A plastic tunnel or covering of polyspun fabric will hold in warmth and boost yields. Lightly fertilize every few weeks, liquid seaweed is my usual favorite.

It’s sunny outside and the garden beckons.

2 Responses

  1. I’ve never heard of the “Misato Rose” radish, but I’m going to see if I can find some seeds. They are truly lovely.

  2. Nichols Garden Nursery, http://www.nicholsgardennursery.com our family business, offers Misato Rose Radish Seeds. I think you will enjoy them.

Leave a Reply

