Winter Composting

Don’t stop now, composting and the decomposition of garden and kitchen waste continues all year. It’s better for your soil and the environment to add vegetable trimmings to the garden than a landfill or your local wastewater. These amendments feed the friendly organisms in your garden soil and improve tilth and fertility.
What to compost: grass clippings, leaves, weeds, coffee grounds, vegetable and fruit peels and trimmings and limited amounts of wood ash. When using wood ash add it in layers interspersed with other materials.
What not to compost: meat or animal products, fat or grease, large unchipped branches.
Setting up a new composting system is pretty simple. A pile, while not elegant will break down in time. Many municipalities offer use of small stackable units that do a good job of composting. If your compost doesn’t seem to be shrinking as it works, toss in a little blood meal or alfalfa pellets to act as a starter and heat it up a bit.
Sheet composting involves covering the soil with biodegradable materials. It’s a valuable soil conditioning technique in the Pacific Northwest where we get pounding rains that tend to compact our soil over the winter. The soil in our perennial beds that have a good mulch of leaves and plants in place seems looser in spring than my vegetable garden. The perennial plants and mulch cushion bare soil from the rains and the roots open the soil for worms.
When our home herb garden was originally planted we covered the soil with compost, fish meal fertilizer, layers of newspaper and a layer of leaves on top. The following spring we had a loose friable soil, no weeds and we dug holes for plants but didn’t disturb the surrounding soil.
Our home vegetable garden has a high water table in winter and with our heavy rainfall, weeds can get a head start in spring. The area is too large to start spreading layers of newspaper. Planting in straw bales has been successful and the soil after the bales break down is a gardeners confection.
Recently I attended an Oregon Tilth conference and gained some new ideas about composting that we’re trying. They’ve been using large pieces of cardboard in their demonstration gardens. Even piano and refrigerator boxes were recommended. First step was a layer of leaves, pine needles, a covering of cardboard and more leaves or straw and soil to hold it in place. All these materials will breakdown and improve the soil, helping to control weeds, raise fertility and reduce water use. This just begins to scratch the surface of what can be said about composting, simply begin and let nature help.

5 Responses

  1. Hi Rose Marie!

    I’ve been receiving a plethora of seed catalogs in the mail as of late, but none of them “spoke” to me the way yours did. I was like a kid in a candy shop, eagerly making a list of everything I wished to purchase and plant (which I listed on my own blog – what a list indeed!). I’m happy to say that I just placed my order and am THRILLED to start planning and mapping everything out.

    I’ve been composting for the past four years, and for the most part I think I am doing everything right. There’s just one little problem I have. When the weather is warm outside, my compost (which is contained in a black bin) gets infested with hundreds of little flying gnat-type bugs. I don’t know how to get rid of them. Any thoughts? Thanks!

  2. Hi Melissa,
    I’m glad you enjoy our Nichols Garden Nursery catalog and thanks for your kind comments.
    Insects and insect eggs in compost won’t survive the heat of an actively working pile. Turning the compost and sprinkling a handful of blood meal or other high nitrogen fertilizer between layers will speed up decomposition and a layer of plastic on the top of the pile will help hold in heat. Remember, these fungal gnats while annoying are helping break down your compost and are not a serious problem. They’re attracted to fungus, moisture and mold and that’s part of the process. Any other comments from readers?

  3. Thanks so much! Yes, it does help. It could very well be that my pile wasn’t getting hot enough or that I wasn’t turning it as frequently as I should. I will have to keep these tips in mind.

  4. There seems to be a defect in your blog/post. There are things going across (or down) the screen. Did you get hacked; I sincerely hope it’s not a virus.

  5. I think maybe it is ‘snow’ ;) I like it!

Leave a Reply

